https://preview.tinyurl.com/yafczpv4

Book Review: Our Kids: The American Dream in Crisis

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

Title: Our Kids: The American Dream in Crisis

Author: Robert D. Putnam

Publisher: Simon & Schuster; Reprint edition (March 29, 2016)

Date of publication: March 29, 2016

Number of Pages: 400

ISBN-10: 1476769907

ISBN-13: 978-1476769905

Author Robert D. Putman in his book, ‘Our Kids: The American Dream in Crisis’ analyses how the American society has changed over the years. The author illustrates examples of students in the 1950s and the 1960s. He compares them to the students of today’s generation.

Is the American Dream in Crisis?

Robert Putman says that the American Dream is a society in which the children receive better than their parents did. The children are expected to earn more, be happier and more educated and so on. Robert D. Putnam’s book, ‘Our Kids: The American Dream in Crisis’ shows how different the reality is from that idea.

 

The author talks about the children in Port Clinton around 1959. He discusses different students and how they fared in life after passing high-school. Some students moved up the social ladder in life. While there were others who remained socially stagnant or fell in social stature.

 

Robert D. Putman explains how the social structure in the 1950s and 1960s was considerably flexible. The author gives a compelling example when Frank’s grandfather tells him how he should behave socially. “If you’re in Port Clinton with a group of boys who can afford a Coke, that’s what you are to order…”

 

Frank lived by his grandfather’s words. He grew up with the children in his neighbourhood and interacted with them irrespective of their socio-economic status. The author further mentions a fall in acceptance in the present times.

 

Robert D. Putman mentions social inequality as the major reason why the American Dream is in crisis. He says that initially, the divide was not as formidable. The children were exposed to different lifestyles through their friends and classmates. Even a poor child usually had a richer friend to learn new skills from. Parents instilled the value of higher education even though they were themselves school drop-outs. Sadly, the poor today have limited and even fewer resources to push their children for higher education.

 

According to the book, the rich today, provide their children with best career counselling while the poor don’t know who they should consult. Robert Putman has argued to change some of the educational policies to provide equal importance to rich and the poor kids.

 

Putman feels it is imperative for the policymakers to acknowledge the structural basis of individual problems. That will bring about a change in the existing policies to realise the American Dream of a stronger and better new generation.

 

Our Kids: The American Dream in Crisis’ does not enlist different approaches to tackling the issue of providing better opportunities to the poorer sect of the society. The book raises this vital question through examples and interesting story telling. None the less, the book falls short in giving diversified solutions to this social problem.

 

The book is aligned with the thoughts of C.W Mills. C.W Mills studied  ‘sociological perspective of social problems’ and ‘understanding and changing the social world’.

 

Understanding Robert D. Putman’sOur Kids: The American Crisis’ will force the readers to appreciate that the book is not only about the American society. Even in other countries, the standard of education has diminished from the previous decades. The socio-economic changes and the advancement of digital media have taken a toll on the quality of education. The book will get you thinking

 

For his thorough research and the insightful writing, we at WeLoveQualityBooks give
Robert D. Putman’s ‘Our Kids: The American Dream in Crisis’, 4 stars.

 

Our Kids: The American Dream in CrisisOur Kids: The American Dream in Crisis by Robert D. Putnam
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book Review: You're Everything I Need: A Forbidden Romance

You’re Everything I Need: A Forbidden Romance by Mia Ford

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

 

Title: You’re Everything I Need: A Forbidden Romance

Author: Mia Ford

Place of publication: New York, NY, USA.

Publisher: Mia Ford Publishing

Date of publication:  September 22, 2018

Number of pages: 432

ASIN: B07HLVZVQX

 

We at WeLoveQualityBooks reviews You’re Everything I Need: A Forbidden Romance by Mia Ford.

 

You’re Everything I Need: A Forbidden Romance by, Mia Ford is a romance. The protagonist Cooper Ventry is a successful businessman but has lost the one he loves. He finds love again in Lexi and they live happily ever after.

 

You’re Everything I Need: A Forbidden Romance had a hackneyed plot. There was no element of surprise. However, the author Mia Ford has tried her best to add as much spice as she could, unsuccessfully. The novel has love, sex, romance, revenge, a sick ex-boyfriend, good friends and anything else one can imagine. But nothing really holds the readers’ interest.

 

Sadly the chapters of the book are all titled Cooper and Lexi alternately. The novel is too long and it is slow paced.

 

The only thing and the only thing that stood out in the novel You’re Everything I Need: A Forbidden Romance by, Mia Ford is the conversation that takes place between various characters. The conversation style is realistic and interesting. The narration which is the major part of the book falls flat.

 

Writing a review for the novel is tough. There is not much that one would remember about the book. It is good to read some novels that don’t touch the readers’ chord. It adds certain freshness in the readers’ minds when it comes to reading the next book.

 

Author Mia Ford deserves one star for making an effort to come up with such a long and elaborate novel. That’s one star for her hard work. The quality of conversation in the book was the only saving grace and deserves another star.

 

To sum it we rate the romantic novel, You’re Everything I Need: A Forbidden Romance by, Mia Ford two stars.

 

You're Everything I Need: A Forbidden RomanceYou’re Everything I Need: A Forbidden Romance by Mia Ford
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

My Sister and I_Sean-Paul Thomas

Book Review: My Sister and I by Sean-Paul Thomas.

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

Title: My Sister and I

Author: Sean-Paul Thomas

Publisher: Paul Thomas Publishing

Date of publication: August 25, 2018

Number of Pages: 211

ASIN: B07GV1LQ88

 

We Love Quality Books reviews, My Sister and I written by author Sean-Paul Thomas.

 

My Sister and I, is a Crime, Thriller & Mystery. It is a Fiction/ Women’s Fiction published by Paul Thomas Publishing. Before we start reading the novel, there is a disclaimer that reads, ‘My Sister and I, is a work of fiction. Names, places and incidents represented are either the products of the author’s imagination….’

 

And boy! What an imagination author, Sean-Paul Thomas has. My Sister and I, is a book that can’t be put down once we start reading it. We, @WeLoveQualityBooks, finished the novel in about a day and a half. Why? How? Such questions are relevant ones. And we have only one answer…

 

My Sister and I, is a book is gripping and unputdownable.

 

The novel has two protagonists. It is a narration of one of the sisters about her sister and her life. Unlike most of the children their age, the sisters have a tough and rough life. But with grit and spirit, they face the challenges. The novel talks about the special bond that twins share. My Sister and I, also highlights how differently the next generation thinks about parenting. How they always question every instruction parents give the children. It is a different question that the sisters in the novel are quite right in questioning their strict father’s instructions and learning.

 

Honestly, the father the twins had was quite a repulsive guy. He is the perfect villain that no one can identify with. Two lines are all I can give the villain of the novel. Sean-Paul Thomas, the author of My Sister and I, has done full justice to bring out the darkest shades of the character.

 

My Sister and I is a very good example of how heredity and environment play an important role in shaping up an individual’s personality. With very similar genetic composition and living in an identical environment, two individuals may turn out to be totally different. My Sister and I by Sean-Paul Thomas makes us think of another hypothesis…

 

Does self-will somehow overrule the heredity and environment theory?

 

The novel, My Sister and I, is gripping, scary, dark, and fast-paced. It is a book a book lover cannot miss reading. Yes, the book does get dark, but through that darkness, our protagonists find a new light- a new life.

 

Evil exists. My Sister and I, describes that in graphic detail. The novel, however, also points out that after every dark night there is a beautiful morning. After every storm there is peace. After every hopeless event in life, there is a crack of hope.

 

The novel My Sister and I by Sean-Paul Thomas has excellent team-work with an impressive Cover Design by Andrew Crains. The editing by Hannah Franchesca deserves a special mention. Author Sean-Paul Thomas and his novel My Sister and I, totally deserve full marks.

 

For this dark and twisted and perfect novel, My Sister and I, we @WeLoveQualityBooks can only think of one score – 5 Stars.

 

 

My Sister And IMy Sister And I by Sean-Paul Thomas
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

For this dark and twisted and perfect novel, My Sister and I, we @WeLoveQualityBooks can only think of one score – 5 Stars.

Book Review: The Old Man and the Princess

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

Title: The Old Man and the Princess

Author: Sean-Paul Thomas

Publisher: Paul Thomas Publishing

Date of publication: October 1st, 2016

Number of Pages: 161

ASIN: B01M1AGJX7

 

The Old Man and the Princess written by author Sean-Paul Thomas is a Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, a Cozy mystery published by Paul Thomas Publishing. The novel is a fiction that will leave an indelible mark on its readers.

The novel is the journey that the protagonist Shersha takes from her birth till her teens. It talks about that one incident that would change Shersha’s life forever.  We see a head-strong girl move through various foster homes and a sad childhood. Most importantly, we see the fire and the courage the young girl exhibits.

The novel is also about an old man and how Shersha and he form a bond in dangerous circumstances. The Old Man and the Princess brush upon the adventurous zeal of a teenager to the dreams of a senile mind. The plot is gripping, pulling, funny, adventurous, cosy, with a surprising end.

As a book reviewer, I have read many novels. The Old Man and the Princess will always be one of my favourites. I can gift it to friends, assured that they will love it. This novel is a keeper and deserves multiple reads. I don’t think I will ever part with the novel. In fact, I would ask one and all to read it. This novel is for teenagers, parents, young adults, would-be parents, couples and everyone else. I not only fell in love with the novel, but it made me see my parents in a different light. I give them more concessions than I gave them before. For some reason, this novel made me understand a parent’s heart as well as a child’s desires, expectations and emotions. Both the parent’s a child’s feelings are not wrong. The only thing that bridges the divide is love.

And this novel is all about love.

The novel made me understand that a bond between a parent and a child is unbreakable. And dreams do come true. As long as we don’t give up on ourselves, luck will not give up on us. Primarily, Old Man and the Princess by Sean-Paul Thomas made me realise that there is a guardian angel watching over us. It’s someone we can never identify, but if we think hard, we realise there is someone who has protected us, the best they can. It is also an assurance that whatever might come our way, it could have been worse if an invisible power didn’t guard us.

I loved Old Man and the Princess by Sean-Paul Thomas. However much I try as a book reviewer, I can’t remain objective towards the novel. That’s because I loved it. I loved it so much that even after months of reading it, I think about it every day. I have already read it more than once and I am looking forward to a re-read.

This novel is for the keeps and for re-reads. To sum it up, Old Man and the Princess by Sean-Paul Thomas absolutely deserves a five star.

The Old Man and the PrincessThe Old Man and the Princess by Sean-Paul Thomas
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review by Welovequalitybooks.bis- Carnal Sacraments_Perry Brass

Book Review: Carnal Sacraments (Second Edition)

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

Title: Carnal Sacraments (Second Edition)

Author: Perry Brass

Publisher: Belhue Press

Date of publication: March 17, 2014

Number of Pages: 319

ASIN: B00J2HU50C

 

Carnal Sacraments by author Perry Brass is a Historical novel published by Belhue Press. The novel is set in the year 2075. The novel is set. This renders Carnal Sacraments a futuristic hue.

 

The novel elicits a range of thoughts and questions. What if, someone gets an elixir? What if, someone gets a golden ticket to immorality? What if, a price one would have to pay? Through the life of the protagonist Jeffery Cooper, the novel, acknowledges all the ‘what ifs’.

 

Jeffery Cooper is a marketing wizard. He gets the chance of a lifetime. He will remain young forever! In return, he delivers products in the worldwide market that are instant hits. The concepts he comes up with, have to be a perfect one. To attract the loyal clientele, Jeffery’s ideas have to strike a chord, every time. Jeffery exceeds the expectations of ‘The System’. ‘The System’ is a secret organization that handpicks geniuses like Jeffery, controlling every aspect of his life. A certain secret potion keeps his body young. He barely looks in his thirties. In actuality, he is in his early eighties.

 

In spite of having everlasting youth, Jeffery sometimes feels age catching up with him. He suffers from frequent panic attacks and the recurring snapshots of the past. ‘The System’ is an intrusive unit that monitors each and every move of its beneficiaries. Jeffery goes through various health and mental checks to keep maintaining his recipient state. He meets his art loving psychotherapist, Tony Rosenputter weekly.

 

Jeffrey feels an attraction for Tony. He acquires abhorrence for the mysterious attacker who’s stalking him. Jeffrey’s life takes a thrilling turn with these radically opposite sentiments. Will Jeffery realize the curse of having an elixir? Or will he alleviate himself into a supreme individual, which even he could not imagine he’d be? The ending of the novel is befitting yet shocking.

 

The author Perry Brass touches various issues through his novel. He insinuates about the relationship one has with their own selves. The author exhibits the association one has with the environment. He reciprocates the universal feelings of romantic love, fulfillment and security. Brass assimilates ambition, the fear of death and the human tendency of ignoring ageing. He explores the role of governance, regime or a system in our lives. Most importantly, Carnal Sacraments is sympathetic to the human desire to leave an indelible mark on the society- the easiest means of living forever.

 

Carnal Sacraments asserts the age-old truth that time is indefatigable. Science can progress and humankind may evolve. The global climate may alter, and the ozone layer may deplete more or in turn stabilize. But time can neither be conquered, manipulated nor usurped. Time always wins.

 

Carnal Sacraments by author Perry Brass definitely left a deep impression on my mind. Volunteering to read the book was a fulfilling experience. The uniqueness of the plot is applause-worthy.

 

My rating for Carnal Sacraments by author Perry Brass is a four star.

 

 

Carnal Sacraments: A Historical Novel of the Future Set in the Last Quarter of the 21st Century, Second EditionCarnal Sacraments: A Historical Novel of the Future Set in the Last Quarter of the 21st Century, Second Edition by Perry Brass
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book Review by Welovequalitybooks.biz for The Leftover_Brooke Williams

Book Review: The Leftover

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

 

Title: The Leftover
Author: Brooke Williams
Publisher: Boutique of Quality Books
Date of publication: September 1, 2017
Number of Pages: 264
ISBN-10: 1945448040
ISBN-13: 978-1945448041

 

The Leftover‘ is a scintillating romantic comedy penned by author Brooke Williams.

 

A young, promising, talented and lonely girl Megan Malone unwillingly accepts the offer of participating in a reality show. She has had high expectations love. Yet, she has no hope of finding the perfect one.

 

Her social incompetency burdens her. Megan’s fear of facing the new world shackles her. Her love for her sister works as an indefatigable impetus. It empowers her to challenge her social awkwardness, her physical limitations- to bloom as a more confident person.

 

Cane Trevino is irresistible! Every girl swoons over him. Every guy is awed by his personality, kindness, and charm. Cane hides a deep hurt! He has withdrawn from the world. Albeit, the world beckons him. Does he have the strength to break free from the pain?

 

‘The Leftover’ delivers realistic characters, original situations and a love story throbbing with happy possibilities. The other people in the novel add zing, fire, hatred, laughter, and adventure!

 

The storyline is compact, engrossing and believable. The novel underlines basic values that bring out the integrity of humanity. The happy-go-lucky novel, ‘The Leftover’ was seriously a fun read! ‘The Leftover‘ is unputdownable. I read it in 36 hours- straight.

 

Volunteering to review ‘The Leftover’ by Brooke Williams was an absolute pleasure. The novel has given me the courage to believe that love lasts as do friendships. ‘The Leftover‘ reiterates the conviction that goodness exists irrespective of nefarious intentions and callous people infesting our environment.

 

My rating for ‘The Leftover’ by Brooke Williams is the perfect score of 5 stars! I guess it will be nice to alternatively rate ‘The Leftover’ with 5 hearts- ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ 

 

The LeftoverThe Leftover by Brooke Williams

My rating: 5 of 5 starsView all my reviews

 

 

 

 

Book Review: Mashed

Book Review: MASHED: The Culinary Delights of Twisted Erotic Horror

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

Title: MASHED: The Culinary Delights of Twisted Erotic Horror

Authors: Grivante, Eddie Generous, Stephen McQuiggan, Darle Dimmelle, John Grey, Nicholas Paschall, Mark Daponte, J. Donnait, Brandon Ketchum, Alex Colvin, Maxine Kollar, Cobalt Jade, Steven Carr, R.A. Goli, Calypso Kane, Devon Widmer and Jaap Boekestein.
Publisher: Grivante Press
Date of publication: April 25, 2017
Number of Pages: 286
ISBN: 1626760144
ASIN: B01N38T1OU

 

MASHED: The Culinary Delights of Twisted Erotic Horror is an Adult Anthology published by Grivante Press.

The Publishing House received 200 Submissions of which they have selected 17 authors from across the world. The writers of Mashed have come up with an assortment of dark humor and steamy horror. The Anthology is flavored with epicurean flourishes.

 

The sequence of the short stories is well planned and perfectly executed.

 

MASHED: The Culinary Delights of Twisted Erotic Horror begins with a witchy romance; progresses to an obsessive tale. The book meanders from supernatural romance to supernatural revenge. The content of the novel moves into paranormal, culinary love, to hilarity, and many more genre’.

 

My picks from the anthology are A Woman’s Corn (By J. Donnait), Biscuit (By Grivante), Burnt Scrambled Eggs (By Devon Widmer) and Stray (By Calypso Kane).

 

The Disagreeable Dinner (By Mark Daponte) was quirky at its best. The other dinner short story The Wrath of the Buttery Bastard Taters (By Alex Colvin) was crazy, beastly fun!

 

Sauce (By Steven Carr) is probably the most horrific short story that I have ever read! I think this story will haunt me forever!

 

On a rainy boring weekend where all your friends are busy. Searching for out-of-the-box fun while enjoying alone time? ‘MASHED: The Culinary Delights of Twisted Erotic Horror’ is the perfect choice!

 

Volunteering to review the novel was definitely an impactful experience.

 

I will give 5 Star to MASHED: The Culinary Delights of Twisted Erotic Horror for its original content. Analyzing MASHED: The Culinary Delights of Twisted Erotic Horror on reader’s engagement, I will give the anthology 3 Stars.

 

I give a Comprehensive Rating of 3 Stars to MASHED: The Culinary Delights of Twisted Erotic Horror.

 

 

 

MASHED: The Culinary Delights of Twisted Erotic HorrorMASHED: The Culinary Delights of Twisted Erotic Horror by Grivante
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

'The Big 10 Paleo....' Author: Megan Flynn Peterson

Book Review: The Big 10 Paleo Spiralizer Cookbook

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews
'The Big 10 Paleo....' Author: Megan Flynn Peterson Book Review by welovequalitybooks.biz
‘The Big 10 Paleo….’
Author: Megan Flynn Peterson

Title: The Big 10 Paleo Spiralizer Cookbook

Author: Megan Flynn Peterson

Publisher: Rockridge Press

Date of publication: May 9, 2017

Number of Pages: 190

ISBN-10: 1623158966

ISBN-13: 978-1623158965

 

The Big 10 Paleo Spiralizer Cookbook by Megan Flynn Peterson is a cookbook for keeps.

 

Vegetable Noodles always amazed me! I tried unsuccessfully to create a variety Paleo dishes because I knew only a few recipes that worked for me. It was always my dream to cook crunchy scrumptious noodle-like vegetable dishes.

 

The Big 10 Paleo Spiralizer Cookbook answered all my doubts and introduced me to the beautiful world of healthy eating. I even purchased a Spiralizer to get the dishes right!

 

Megan Flynn Peterson works with difficult vegetables like turnips and beet. Beets are one of my chosen vegetables. I have always had beetroot cut into slices with a dash of lemon and some salt. I have sometimes imagined using the beautiful red beet differently. This cookbook made it possible for me! Now I can make a variety of tasty dishes with beetroot. I loved the recipe for Quick-Pickled Beet Noodles and the variation with Beet and Carrots. Beet Pasta with Lemon-Butter Sauce turned out to be very delicious.

 

Tahini is again a difficult ingredient to inculcate in food. It usually goes with Humus and not more, for me. I magically found the Carrot Noodle Salad with Tahini-Lime Dressing in the cookbook. I have made the dish a number of times now.

 

Sweet Potato Cincinnati Chilli, Grilled Salmon Zoodles marinated in Olives and Artichokes, Veggie Chow Fun with Egg, Cinnamon Honey Roasted Carrot Noodles, Rainbow Carrot Curly Fries, and Carrot Noodle Egg Drop Soup are all super delicious dishes that The Big 10 Paleo Spiralizer Cookbook elaborates.

 

Most of the dishes in the cookbook – The Big 10 Paleo Spiralizer Cookbook come with variations. The modifications in the instructions allow new cooks as well as cooking experts to try out more variety while cooking.

 

 Megan Flynn Peterson shares her input on blades, vegetables, and cooking technique simply and effectively. For a new user of Spiralizer or for someone fresh at Paleo diet, using new equipment with different vegetables can be tricky. Megan Flynn Peterson guides her readers with the vegetable and Spiralizer blade combination; blade and cooking technique combination; vegetable, equipment and cooking technique that will work with each recipe.

 

The Big 10 Paleo Spiralizer Cookbook is a definitive guide to Paleo cooking – a must have! This book totally deserves a round of applause, drooling slurps, tasty second helpings, and 5 stars.

 

The Big 10 Paleo Spiralizer Cookbook: 10 Vegetables to Noodle, 100 Healthy Spiralizer Recipes, 300 Variations

Spirits of the Heart Author: Claire Gem Reivewd by welovequalitybooks.biz

Book Review: Spirits of the Heart

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

Title: Spirits of the Heart (Haunted Voices Book 2)

Author: Claire Gem

Publisher: Erato Publishing

Date of publication: February 14, 2017

Number of Pages: 322

E-Book ASIN: B01N7VIZU2

Store: Kindle

 

Spirits of the Heart by Claire Gem is a Haunted/Ghost novel set in Middletown, New York.

Laura Horton finds herself abandoned by her school friend, on the porch of Miller’s house. Miller a security officer who works at the Middletown Psychiatric Center is nothing like she had imagined. Miller Sanford’s abruptness disturbs her. Armoured with a raw masculinity and good looks he perturbs her more!

 

Ignoring the persistent urge to return to North Carolina, Laura joins The Alcoholic Rehab Center as a Therapist. The eerie view of an ancient graveyard from her room adds to Laura’s discomfiture! The office premise piques her inquisitiveness.

 

Miller is equally unhappy with the unexpected circumstances. She reminds him of a wound that Laura’s school friend inflicted on him recently. He tries his best to avoid Laura, yet a strong magnetism that draws him to her!

 

As Laura and Miller unravel their enforced proximity, certain occurring shakes their equanimity.

 

Brought together by fate, Laura and Miller commit to help a child spirit. In the process, Laura is able to overcome her abandonment issues and Miller is able to conquer his dark past. Together, the two start a beautiful journey that will stay with the readers ceaselessly.

 

To find out if they are able to help the little sprite, read Spirits of the Hearts!

 

Author Claire Gem tackles issues of family ties, alcoholism, medical malpractices, homelessness, and trust, beautifully throughout the novel. The emphasis on all these concerns is interestingly merged with the storyline. This novel is un-put-down-able. Each line, every page of the story will pulsate the reader’s curiosity. The tempo of the book is- undiluted suspense. At no point can the reader guess how it all would turn out.

 

Spirits of the Heart is engrossing!

 

Judiciously set as a haunted novel, Spirits of the Heart explores the unknown – the paranormal. Spirits of the Heart encourages the readers to unravel mysteries rather than to succumb to fear. The feeling: ‘everything happens for a reason’ is appropriately predominant throughout the novel.

 

Every reader will appreciate their loved ones a lot more after a read of Spirits of the Heart by Clare Gems!

 

Spirits of the Heart most definitely deserves a 5 Star!

 

Book Review: ©welovequalitybooks.biz

 

 

Spirits of the HeartSpirits of the Heart by Claire Gem
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

Book Review: Spellcaster Author: George Bachman ©welovequalitybooks.biz

Book Review: Spellcaster

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews
Book Review: Spellcaster Author: George Bachman ©welovequalitybooks.biz
Book Review: Spellcaster
Author: George Bachman
©welovequalitybooks.biz

Title: Spellcaster

Author: George Bachman

Publisher: Sublime Ltd.

Date of publication: April 3, 2017

Number of pages: 262

E-Book ISBN: 978-0-9908990-2-0

Store: Kindle

 

 

Spellcaster by George Bachman is a Historical/Fantasy/Paranormal & Urban novel set in the Victorian era (1837-1901).

 

The protagonist Christine and her sisters arrive at their family friend’s residence- The Marble’s. Christine, Allison, and Natalie are the debutants of the year. While the sisters and their friends are busy searching for a suitable husband, Christine searches for those who haunt her in her lucid dreams.

Christine has a strong ESP. Gradually her dreams turn into nightmares!

 

Several times, the sixteen-year-old, has out-of-body experiences. Our strong heroine hides her physical and mental turmoil from her sisters and family. Sometimes Natty, who shares the room with Christine, feels that her sister needs help. Christine, however, convinces her, every time with her wit that she is completely fine.

 

As the dreams become more lucid, frightening and recurrent, the young lady decides to unearth the cause of it all.

 

Christine uses her talent as an occultist to unearth her past- life- experiences eclipsing her present life. She uses magic and some amounts of selfishness to find her lost friend from the other life. Christine succeeds but is riddled with guilt for sacrificing Allie’s happiness and future.

Christine and her friend use astral projection to return as people of their previous lives- to France. Here we are introduced to the Spellcaster. Christine, who was a knight in the twelfth century, takes us on a high-voltage adventure and to a grand finale.

 

The novel is engaging. There are a lot of magical rituals which arouse different sensory experiences. There is a Jane Austin-ish feeling to the novel initially that completely flips into an action fantasy. The narrative moves into different genres deftly. The battle techniques are frightening, exciting and exhilarating to read. The reader is left to wonder if the magic can be as powerful! It’s amazing!

The conclusion to the book is befitting for the strong Knights of Spellcaster. The only thing that I missed was how Christine’s life turned out. Maybe, George Bachman, the author has a sequel planned. It would be nice to see Christine, her sisters, and her friend whom she found after terrible endeavor get a just story of their own.

I would give Spellcaster 3.5 Stars and will implore all fantasy lovers to definitely read George Bachman’s spellbinding novel.

Book Review: ©welovequalitybooks.biz

Spellcaster