https://preview.tinyurl.com/yafczpv4

Book Review: Our Kids: The American Dream in Crisis

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

Title: Our Kids: The American Dream in Crisis

Author: Robert D. Putnam

Publisher: Simon & Schuster; Reprint edition (March 29, 2016)

Date of publication: March 29, 2016

Number of Pages: 400

ISBN-10: 1476769907

ISBN-13: 978-1476769905

Author Robert D. Putman in his book, ‘Our Kids: The American Dream in Crisis’ analyses how the American society has changed over the years. The author illustrates examples of students in the 1950s and the 1960s. He compares them to the students of today’s generation.

Is the American Dream in Crisis?

Robert Putman says that the American Dream is a society in which the children receive better than their parents did. The children are expected to earn more, be happier and more educated and so on. Robert D. Putnam’s book, ‘Our Kids: The American Dream in Crisis’ shows how different the reality is from that idea.

 

The author talks about the children in Port Clinton around 1959. He discusses different students and how they fared in life after passing high-school. Some students moved up the social ladder in life. While there were others who remained socially stagnant or fell in social stature.

 

Robert D. Putman explains how the social structure in the 1950s and 1960s was considerably flexible. The author gives a compelling example when Frank’s grandfather tells him how he should behave socially. “If you’re in Port Clinton with a group of boys who can afford a Coke, that’s what you are to order…”

 

Frank lived by his grandfather’s words. He grew up with the children in his neighbourhood and interacted with them irrespective of their socio-economic status. The author further mentions a fall in acceptance in the present times.

 

Robert D. Putman mentions social inequality as the major reason why the American Dream is in crisis. He says that initially, the divide was not as formidable. The children were exposed to different lifestyles through their friends and classmates. Even a poor child usually had a richer friend to learn new skills from. Parents instilled the value of higher education even though they were themselves school drop-outs. Sadly, the poor today have limited and even fewer resources to push their children for higher education.

 

According to the book, the rich today, provide their children with best career counselling while the poor don’t know who they should consult. Robert Putman has argued to change some of the educational policies to provide equal importance to rich and the poor kids.

 

Putman feels it is imperative for the policymakers to acknowledge the structural basis of individual problems. That will bring about a change in the existing policies to realise the American Dream of a stronger and better new generation.

 

Our Kids: The American Dream in Crisis’ does not enlist different approaches to tackling the issue of providing better opportunities to the poorer sect of the society. The book raises this vital question through examples and interesting story telling. None the less, the book falls short in giving diversified solutions to this social problem.

 

The book is aligned with the thoughts of C.W Mills. C.W Mills studied  ‘sociological perspective of social problems’ and ‘understanding and changing the social world’.

 

Understanding Robert D. Putman’sOur Kids: The American Crisis’ will force the readers to appreciate that the book is not only about the American society. Even in other countries, the standard of education has diminished from the previous decades. The socio-economic changes and the advancement of digital media have taken a toll on the quality of education. The book will get you thinking

 

For his thorough research and the insightful writing, we at WeLoveQualityBooks give
Robert D. Putman’s ‘Our Kids: The American Dream in Crisis’, 4 stars.

 

Our Kids: The American Dream in CrisisOur Kids: The American Dream in Crisis by Robert D. Putnam
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book-Review for The Purple Light_

Book Review: The Purple Light by Anthony Taylor

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

Title:  THE PURPLE LIGHT: AN HERB AND LIFE ENTHUSIASTS SURVIAL GUIDE

Author: Anthony Taylor

Number of pages: 168 pages

ISBN: 9780359415151

 

The Purple Light: An Herb And Life Enthusiasts Survival Guide is a spiritual and inspirational novel written by author Anthony Taylor.

Author Anthony Taylor talks about how he encountered the Purple Light in one of his narcotic trips and how he learnt to live with It. The author says there are different colours of light or aura. Each colour influences and governs and moulds our behaviour and the choices we make.

Author Anthony Taylor terms the Purple Light as the highest form of divine light. It is pure. It is just, generous and kind.

Initially, the author tries to ignore the existence of the Purple Light but finally embraces It. He has now remodelled his life in accordance with the tenets of the Purple Light. Author Anthony Taylor has transformed his life from that of a cocaine addict to a man of God. He now spreads His teachings and the importance of the Purple Light through his writings. The Purple Light: An Herb And Life Enthusiasts Survival Guide showcase what the author wants to communicate to the world.

In the middle of reading the book, I emotionally snapped. I got aggressive and I had trouble handling my behaviour. So, I stopped reading The Purple Light: An Herb And Life Enthusiasts Survival Guide for a while. A week down the line, I was calmer and more rational. I had figured out a lot of ‘why’ and ‘why not’s’ of my life.

In the cacophony of words and expectations that surround us, it is nearly impossible for us to listen to God’s voice or our inner voice. This book has brought me a lot of peace and insight. I can’t tell you how the dynamics changed. But I could feel a physical shift in my circumstances. I am confident that The Purple Light: An Herb And Life Enthusiasts Survival Guide by Anthony Taylor came to me for review for a greater purpose.

The one who reads The Purple Light: An Herb And Life Enthusiasts Survival Guide with an open mind and courage, will take back something positive from the book for sure.

The Purple Light: An Herb And Life Enthusiasts Survival Guide also talks about how the author Anthony Taylor sees life after embracing the Purple Light. He talks about his views on political leaders, animals, technology, people in general and more.

Indians associate the Purple Light as the colour that signifies the highest chakra in meditation. I could spiritually connect to that concept of the book.

The Purple Light: An Herb And Life Enthusiasts Survival Guide, is for those who can keep prejudices at bay. It is not for everyone although everyone should try reading it once. J. This is not just an everyday self-help book. It has taken the author years to write the book. The first part was written when the author experienced the Purple Light while the second part was written much later.  By then the author had embraced the Purple Light. Still, the story flows smoothly and the writing style remains unchanged.

The Purple Light: An Herb And Life Enthusiasts Survival Guide by Anthony Taylor can serve as an inspiration for those who want to quit using drugs and start a new life.

This spiritual and unusually special novel deserves no less than infinite accolades and a bunch of 8s. But, we at We Love Quality Books will refrain from setting a precedent.

We at We Love Quality Books give The Purple Light: An Herb And Life Enthusiasts Survival Guide by author Anthony Taylor shiny 4.5 Stars!

The Purple LightThe Purple Light by Tony Taylor
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

Exit Velocity_Author_Simon_Pearce

Book Review: Exit Velocity (The Spotlight Tales Book 2) by S Pearce

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

Title:  Exit Velocity (The Spotlight Tales Book 2)


Author: S Pearce


Publisher: Amazon Asia-Pacific Holdings Private Limited


Number of pages: 112 pages

 

ASIN: B079R3VTVP

 

Exit Velocity is the second book in The Spotlight Tales Series. The book is written by the prolific author, S Pearce.

Have you ever read a novel without realising that you have reached the very end of it? Exit Velocity by author S Pearce will leave you wondering about that and a lot more.

Have you ever read a novel wherein, you turn the pages, re-read chapters, just to get to the bottom of the suspense thriller? Please read Exit Velocity to feel the thrill of re-reading portions or the entire book and digging out the truth.

Exit Velocity by author S Pearce reminded me of my days in college when as a student of Criminology; I look and re-looked at pieces of evidence to find the answers.

I have never enjoyed a book so much! It is not only a suspense thriller but a book that looks into the complexes and short-comings of people. The book talks about how decisions can be fatal and irrevocable. Exit Velocity by S Pearce is a book that will tell you about how people succumb to little temptations. You will learn why revenge is more powerful than love. The novel will also tell you about why people rationalise all their wrongdoings.

The feeling of persecution is often associated with adjustment issues and denial. Author S Pearce effectively touches upon this subject.

Exit Velocity made me question two things:

1. Do all good things come in small packages?

2. Is everything sweet, wonderful?

The book is so gripping that you will not realise you have reached the end. The clues are interestingly revealed. Each hint is subtle. If you lose focus, you miss out on a hint. But I am sure, the book involves the reader to such an extent that losing concentration is impossible.

Honestly, it is one of the best suspense thrillers I have ever read. I pride myself for identifying the criminal in the first chapter of any suspense/thriller/mystery. This book kept me not only guessing till the very end, but I also re-reading portions of Exit Velocity to identify the culprit.

The tone of the book is complaining and is just right for the subject. All the characters in the novel lament and have passive aggressive thoughts. It sets the mood of the book. The dark clouds the author talks about in the last page of the book looms on the readers from the very first page.

Author S Pearce’s book Exit Velocity is not only entertaining, spine-chilling and engrossing. It is also full of information. That makes the novel Exit Velocity an informative suspense thriller.

Does Exit Velocity by author S Pearce deserve anything less than the full marks? No, absolutely not. The honey-filled suspense thriller Exit Velocity written by author S Pearce is exemplary.

WeLoveQualityBooks gives this amazing, sensational, adrenalin pumping novel, Exit Velocity, nothing more and nothing less but 5 Stars.

Exit Velocity (The Spotlight Tales #2)Exit Velocity by S. Pearce
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Orion t00he Star: The Pink Dolphin_Jamie Skeie

Book Review: Orion the Star:The Pink Dolphin

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

 

Title: Orion the Star: The Pink Dolphin
Author: Jamie Skeie
Publisher: Amazon Asia-Pacific Holdings Private Limited
Publication Date: January 10, 2019
Number of pages: 29 pages
ASIN: B07MG2TQ5J

 

Orion the Star: The Pink Dolphin is a children’s book written by author Jaime Skeie. The book, Orion the Star: The Pink Dolphin is a heartwarming treat for children and also for adults.

 

If you like a sweet story with a lovely moral, Orion the Star: The Pink Dolphin, is the book to read.

 

The illustration of the book is wonderful. You cannot put the book down once you pick it up for a read. The book will remind the adults and young readers about a favourite family member and a role model or, how a father is always a daughter’s hero and how parents can do anything to keep their children safe. Orion the Star: The Pink Dolphin by Jaime Skeie is a book about family – doting children and loving parents.

 

Friendship transcends all boundaries be it age, location and or difference in species. Orion the Star: The Pink Dolphin by Jaime Skeie is a book about true friendship.

 

The spirit of adventure, compassion and loyalty gives the book a new high.

 

If you love a child in you, do read the book. If you love children (your own, or any sweet child you know) then buy this book. Read it with the ones you love. And share it with the ones you love. Orion the Star: The Pink Dolphin by Jaime Skeie is a 29-page wonder that will impress you with its crisp and short storyline and adorable illustrations.

 

Orion the Star: The Pink Dolphin by Jaime Skeie is inexplicably beautiful and deserves the best – 5 Stars.

 

Orion the Star: The Pink DolphinOrion the Star: The Pink Dolphin by Jamie Skeie
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

From Destitute to Plenitude:

Book Review: From Destitute to Plenitude: Breaking Through Barriers of Poverty

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

Title: From Destitute to Plenitude: Breaking Through Barriers of Poverty
Author: Helene Louiesa Mynhardt
Publisher: Helene Louiesa Mynhardt (June 11, 2018)
Publication Date: May 27, 2018
Number of pages: 111 pages
ASIN: B07DNYSQRJ

 

From Destitute to Plenitude: Breaking Through Barriers of Poverty written by Helene Louiesa Mynhardt falls under the category of non-fiction. The novel takes on from the narration in Memoirs Of A Play-White The Autobiography & Other Writings.

 

The author’s story runs parallel to the story of South Africa after the end of apartheid.

 

The book mentions how Helene Louiesa Mynhardt finally finds her life partner and how they get married at a time when people’s mindsets had not changed although apartheid had come to an end.

 

In the book From Destitute to Plenitude: Breaking Through Barriers of Poverty, author Helene Louiesa Mynhardt goes against all odds to set up a debt recovery company called Sterling Debt Recoveries. She faces challenges with all her might to see her company grow. She also ensures that her employees grow with her.

 

The book lives up to its name- From Destitute to Plentitude. There are plenty of examples that confirm what an important role the right attitude plays in one’s life. The author always had the intention of making her money work harder for her. Her enterprising skills are very obvious in the book.

 

Fortune favours the brave. Author Helene Louiesa Mynhardt and her husband were rewarded for being brave and strong by the universe. They won a lucky draw on their wedding day that took care of their catering bill. The author was also able to resell her wedding dress for a no profit no loss. The story doesn’t end there. With her skill at identifying opportunities, Helene Louiesa Mynhardt purchases houses, upgrades the office furniture and makes her business grow.

 

She helps out even those relatives who were rude to her. It is an example of how the author doesn’t allow personal feelings to come in the way of doing the right thing – the true mark of a good business person. As the author grows in her life and in business, South Africa also grows as a country with reformed rules in banking and lending.

 

The book discusses the role of Standard Chartered and their stress on being an ethical bank as does the author. Even when days are tough and dark (due to electrical blackouts), the author holds her ground as does her country, South Africa.

 

From Destitute to Plenitude: Breaking Through Barriers of Poverty discusses financial terms and procedures. Those who love banking and finance will love the book. Those who love inspiring true stories would love From Destitute to Plenitude: Breaking Through Barriers of Poverty as well.

 

The book inspires us to dream and to never give up. It is brilliantly detailed and informative. Those who are facing difficulties in their business or are too scared of failing to start their own thing can refer to From Destitute to Plentitude: Breaking Through Barriers of Poverty for insight and inspiration.

 

For this motivating non-fiction that describes the journey of the author and South Africa from destitute to plentitude. We at We Love Quality Books give From Destitute to Plentitude: Breaking Through Barriers of Poverty written by Helene Louiesa Mynhardt, 5 Stars.

 

From Destitute to Plenitude: Breaking Through Barriers of PovertyFrom Destitute to Plenitude: Breaking Through Barriers of Poverty by Helene Louiesa Mynhardt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

Book Review: Memoirs Of A Play-White The Autobiography & Other Writings by Helene Louiesa Mynhardt.

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

Title: Memoirs Of A Play-White The Autobiography & Other Writings

Author: Helene Louiesa Mynhardt

Publisher: Helene Louiesa Mynhardt (May 27, 2018)

Publication Date: May 27, 2018

Number of pages: 139 pages

ASIN: B07DC8B494

Memoirs Of A Play-White The Autobiography & Other Writings comes under the category of non-fiction. The book is written by Helene Louiesa Mynhardt. Undoubtedly, this is one of the most interesting autobiographies that I have recently read.

The novel is the journey of little Louiesa from a child with an unprivileged background to an independent and enterprising lady. This book is also the journey of a nation from apartheid to racial and social integration.

Born in South Africa, author Helene Louiesa Mynhardt traces her grandmother and her mother’s journeys from childhood to adulthood. The author talks about the efforts her mother put in to change her situation in life but eventually succumbed to her pains by becoming an alcoholic.

She then goes on to tell us how her birth slowly and steadily helped her mother come to grips with her life and how the author’s desire to excel and overcome all hardships. As the situation in the author‘s life changes for the better, so does that of South Africa.

The beauty of the book Memoirs Of A Play-White The Autobiography & Other Writings by Helene Louiesa Mynhardt is not only her personal journey but South Africa’s journey as a nation. The time when new silver coins were introduced in South Africa is associated with little Louiesa’s memories of her being presented with a silver coin. Louiesa talks about how the government tried to uplift people’s living conditions by building houses and assigning neighbourhoods on racial distinctions. She talks about how birth registration rules were updated in 1952.

Sadly, every positive change that the government made was marred by apartheid. It’s heart-wrenching to hear about how far the segregation went. It percolated to every inch of South Africa’s existence. Author Helene Louiesa Mynhardt describes how in retail stores the coloured population was not allowed to enter the stores. When the government was condemned for apartheid, it came up with the silliest of conditions to maintain the status quo yet projecting an aura of equality. The event with the fashion pageant was a tongue in cheek effort by the government.

Segregation! Discrimination! They exist in every society to some extent. But the level of discrimination the people of South Africa have endured is heartbreaking. Every tale in the book is verified with dates and corresponding events. What stands out is how music united the people of South Africa when apartheid was at its height. Afro-hairstyle, music and plays bonded the people.

The contribution of Standard Chartered Bank in the economy of South Africa is evident. It is the Standard Chartered Bank that helped the author make a career as a banker and succeed in her personal and professional life. The office anecdotes of Standard  Chartered Bank is entertaining and fun.

But South Africa had to break free from all the shackles. The country had so much potential that the country had to rise above everything and everyone. Helene Louiesa Mynhardt, the author, truly represents the spirit of South Africa. She braved all difficulties, sadness, mishaps, to win ethically.

Who could represent the chronicles of the end of apartheid and the transformation of a beautiful but prejudiced nation into a generous one? It could be no one than Helene Louiesa Mynhardt.

Those countries and people who face segregation can learn how to reform from the history of South Africa and that of the author.

My personal take from Memoirs Of A Play-White The Autobiography & Other Writings by Helene Louiesa Mynhardt is that no one and no circumstance can stop you from shining if you have the calibre, the will, the zeal, and the tenacity to achieve your dreams. The author did. And so did the millions of people of South Africa who dreamed of a country unified in spirit and mind- a melting pot of races.

Memoirs Of A Play-White The Autobiography & Other Writings by Helene Louiesa Mynhardt is immensely inspiring.

We at WeLoveQualityBooks give Memoirs Of A Play-White The Autobiography & Other Writings by Helene Louiesa Mynhardt, Five Stars for its excellent storytelling, flow, objectivity, and spirit.

Memoirs Of A Play-White: The Autobiography Other Writings by Helene Louiesa Mynhardt

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Book Review: You're Everything I Need: A Forbidden Romance

You’re Everything I Need: A Forbidden Romance by Mia Ford

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

 

Title: You’re Everything I Need: A Forbidden Romance

Author: Mia Ford

Place of publication: New York, NY, USA.

Publisher: Mia Ford Publishing

Date of publication:  September 22, 2018

Number of pages: 432

ASIN: B07HLVZVQX

Title: Youre Everything I Need

Author: Mia Ford

Place of publication: New York, NY, USA.

Publisher: Mia Ford Publishing

Date of publication:  September 22, 2018

Number of pages: 432

ASIN: B07HLVZVQX

Youre Everything I need by, Mia Ford is a romance. The protagonist Cooper Ventry is a successful businessman who has lost the one he loves. He finds love again in Lexi and they live happily ever after.

Youre Everything I need has a hackneyed plot. There is no element of surprise. However, the author Mia Ford has tried her best to add as much spice as she could but unsuccessfully. The novel has love, sex, romance, revenge, a sick ex-boyfriend, good friends and anything else one can imagine. But nothing really holds the readers’ interest.

Sadly the chapters of the book are all titled Cooper and Lexi, alternately. The novel is too long and it is slow paced.

The only thing and the only thing that stood out in the novel Youre Everything I need by Mia Ford is the conversation that takes place between various characters. The conversation style is realistic and interesting. The narration which is the major part of the book falls flat.

Writing a review for this novel was tough. There is not much that one would remember about the book. It is good to read some novels that don’t hit a chord with the readers. It adds a kind of freshness in the readers’ minds when it comes to reading the next book.

Author Mia Ford deserves one star for making an effort to come up with such a long and elaborate novel. That’s one star for her hard work. The quality of conversation in the book was the only saving grace and deserves another star.

To sum it we rate the romantic novel, Youre Everything I need by, Mia Ford two stars.

 

You're Everything I Need: A Forbidden RomanceYou’re Everything I Need: A Forbidden Romance by Mia Ford
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

My Sister and I_Sean-Paul Thomas

Book Review: My Sister and I by Sean-Paul Thomas.

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

Title: My Sister and I

Author: Sean-Paul Thomas

Publisher: Paul Thomas Publishing

Date of publication: August 25, 2018

Number of Pages: 211

ASIN: B07GV1LQ88

 

We Love Quality Books reviews, My Sister and I written by author Sean-Paul Thomas.

 

My Sister and I, is a Crime, Thriller & Mystery. It is a Fiction/ Women’s Fiction published by Paul Thomas Publishing. Before we start reading the novel, there is a disclaimer that reads, ‘My Sister and I, is a work of fiction. Names, places and incidents represented are either the products of the author’s imagination….’

 

And boy! What an imagination author, Sean-Paul Thomas has. My Sister and I, is a book that can’t be put down once we start reading it. We, @WeLoveQualityBooks, finished the novel in about a day and a half. Why? How? Such questions are relevant ones. And we have only one answer…

 

My Sister and I, is a book is gripping and unputdownable.

 

The novel has two protagonists. It is a narration of one of the sisters about her sister and her life. Unlike most of the children their age, the sisters have a tough and rough life. But with grit and spirit, they face the challenges. The novel talks about the special bond that twins share. My Sister and I, also highlights how differently the next generation thinks about parenting. How they always question every instruction parents give the children. It is a different question that the sisters in the novel are quite right in questioning their strict father’s instructions and learning.

 

Honestly, the father the twins had was quite a repulsive guy. He is the perfect villain that no one can identify with. Two lines are all I can give the villain of the novel. Sean-Paul Thomas, the author of My Sister and I, has done full justice to bring out the darkest shades of the character.

 

My Sister and I is a very good example of how heredity and environment play an important role in shaping up an individual’s personality. With very similar genetic composition and living in an identical environment, two individuals may turn out to be totally different. My Sister and I by Sean-Paul Thomas makes us think of another hypothesis…

 

Does self-will somehow overrule the heredity and environment theory?

 

The novel, My Sister and I, is gripping, scary, dark, and fast-paced. It is a book a book lover cannot miss reading. Yes, the book does get dark, but through that darkness, our protagonists find a new light- a new life.

 

Evil exists. My Sister and I, describes that in graphic detail. The novel, however, also points out that after every dark night there is a beautiful morning. After every storm there is peace. After every hopeless event in life, there is a crack of hope.

 

The novel My Sister and I by Sean-Paul Thomas has excellent team-work with an impressive Cover Design by Andrew Crains. The editing by Hannah Franchesca deserves a special mention. Author Sean-Paul Thomas and his novel My Sister and I, totally deserve full marks.

 

For this dark and twisted and perfect novel, My Sister and I, we @WeLoveQualityBooks can only think of one score – 5 Stars.

 

 

My Sister And IMy Sister And I by Sean-Paul Thomas
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

For this dark and twisted and perfect novel, My Sister and I, we @WeLoveQualityBooks can only think of one score – 5 Stars.

Book Review: The Old Man and the Princess

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

Title: The Old Man and the Princess

Author: Sean-Paul Thomas

Publisher: Paul Thomas Publishing

Date of publication: October 1st, 2016

Number of Pages: 161

ASIN: B01M1AGJX7

 

The Old Man and the Princess written by author Sean-Paul Thomas is a Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, a Cozy mystery published by Paul Thomas Publishing. The novel is a fiction that will leave an indelible mark on its readers.

The novel is the journey that the protagonist Shersha takes from her birth till her teens. It talks about that one incident that would change Shersha’s life forever.  We see a head-strong girl move through various foster homes and a sad childhood. Most importantly, we see the fire and the courage the young girl exhibits.

The novel is also about an old man and how Shersha and he form a bond in dangerous circumstances. The Old Man and the Princess brush upon the adventurous zeal of a teenager to the dreams of a senile mind. The plot is gripping, pulling, funny, adventurous, cosy, with a surprising end.

As a book reviewer, I have read many novels. The Old Man and the Princess will always be one of my favourites. I can gift it to friends, assured that they will love it. This novel is a keeper and deserves multiple reads. I don’t think I will ever part with the novel. In fact, I would ask one and all to read it. This novel is for teenagers, parents, young adults, would-be parents, couples and everyone else. I not only fell in love with the novel, but it made me see my parents in a different light. I give them more concessions than I gave them before. For some reason, this novel made me understand a parent’s heart as well as a child’s desires, expectations and emotions. Both the parent’s a child’s feelings are not wrong. The only thing that bridges the divide is love.

And this novel is all about love.

The novel made me understand that a bond between a parent and a child is unbreakable. And dreams do come true. As long as we don’t give up on ourselves, luck will not give up on us. Primarily, Old Man and the Princess by Sean-Paul Thomas made me realise that there is a guardian angel watching over us. It’s someone we can never identify, but if we think hard, we realise there is someone who has protected us, the best they can. It is also an assurance that whatever might come our way, it could have been worse if an invisible power didn’t guard us.

I loved Old Man and the Princess by Sean-Paul Thomas. However much I try as a book reviewer, I can’t remain objective towards the novel. That’s because I loved it. I loved it so much that even after months of reading it, I think about it every day. I have already read it more than once and I am looking forward to a re-read.

This novel is for the keeps and for re-reads. To sum it up, Old Man and the Princess by Sean-Paul Thomas absolutely deserves a five star.

The Old Man and the PrincessThe Old Man and the Princess by Sean-Paul Thomas
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review by Welovequalitybooks.bis- Carnal Sacraments_Perry Brass

Book Review: Carnal Sacraments (Second Edition)

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Book Reviews

Title: Carnal Sacraments (Second Edition)

Author: Perry Brass

Publisher: Belhue Press

Date of publication: March 17, 2014

Number of Pages: 319

ASIN: B00J2HU50C

 

Carnal Sacraments by author Perry Brass is a Historical novel published by Belhue Press. The novel is set in the year 2075. The novel is set. This renders Carnal Sacraments a futuristic hue.

 

The novel elicits a range of thoughts and questions. What if, someone gets an elixir? What if, someone gets a golden ticket to immorality? What if, a price one would have to pay? Through the life of the protagonist Jeffery Cooper, the novel, acknowledges all the ‘what ifs’.

 

Jeffery Cooper is a marketing wizard. He gets the chance of a lifetime. He will remain young forever! In return, he delivers products in the worldwide market that are instant hits. The concepts he comes up with, have to be a perfect one. To attract the loyal clientele, Jeffery’s ideas have to strike a chord, every time. Jeffery exceeds the expectations of ‘The System’. ‘The System’ is a secret organization that handpicks geniuses like Jeffery, controlling every aspect of his life. A certain secret potion keeps his body young. He barely looks in his thirties. In actuality, he is in his early eighties.

 

In spite of having everlasting youth, Jeffery sometimes feels age catching up with him. He suffers from frequent panic attacks and the recurring snapshots of the past. ‘The System’ is an intrusive unit that monitors each and every move of its beneficiaries. Jeffery goes through various health and mental checks to keep maintaining his recipient state. He meets his art loving psychotherapist, Tony Rosenputter weekly.

 

Jeffrey feels an attraction for Tony. He acquires abhorrence for the mysterious attacker who’s stalking him. Jeffrey’s life takes a thrilling turn with these radically opposite sentiments. Will Jeffery realize the curse of having an elixir? Or will he alleviate himself into a supreme individual, which even he could not imagine he’d be? The ending of the novel is befitting yet shocking.

 

The author Perry Brass touches various issues through his novel. He insinuates about the relationship one has with their own selves. The author exhibits the association one has with the environment. He reciprocates the universal feelings of romantic love, fulfillment and security. Brass assimilates ambition, the fear of death and the human tendency of ignoring ageing. He explores the role of governance, regime or a system in our lives. Most importantly, Carnal Sacraments is sympathetic to the human desire to leave an indelible mark on the society- the easiest means of living forever.

 

Carnal Sacraments asserts the age-old truth that time is indefatigable. Science can progress and humankind may evolve. The global climate may alter, and the ozone layer may deplete more or in turn stabilize. But time can neither be conquered, manipulated nor usurped. Time always wins.

 

Carnal Sacraments by author Perry Brass definitely left a deep impression on my mind. Volunteering to read the book was a fulfilling experience. The uniqueness of the plot is applause-worthy.

 

My rating for Carnal Sacraments by author Perry Brass is a four star.

 

 

Carnal Sacraments: A Historical Novel of the Future Set in the Last Quarter of the 21st Century, Second EditionCarnal Sacraments: A Historical Novel of the Future Set in the Last Quarter of the 21st Century, Second Edition by Perry Brass
My rating: 4 of 5 stars